New function to delete My Health Record at anytime

By ANMJ Staff|
2019-01-24T09:37:16+10:00
January 24th, 2019|

Accessibility – Increase Font

Share This Story

Print This Story

A function has been activated in the My Health Record system that allows a person to permanently delete their record at any time, including any backups.


After 31 January 2019, a My Health Record will be created for everyone who has not opted out of the system. However the new function will allow the user to delete their record any time if they choose.

All records that have previously been cancelled will also be permanently deleted from the system.

Yet if a person changes their mind, they can choose to register for a record at any time.

To strengthen the existing system, new laws were passed by Parliament last year prohibiting insurers and employers to access or use My Health Record information, or to ask a person to disclose the information, for insurance or employment purposes under any circumstance.

The new laws also legislate the Agency’s existing policy around disclosure to law enforcement agencies – law enforcement agencies cannot access a person’s My Health Record without a warrant or court order.

My Health Record is an online summary of a person’s key health information. It allows them to share and control their health information with doctors, hospitals and other healthcare providers, from anywhere.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

X