Accessibility – Increase Font

Share This Story

Print This Story

The hunt for Australia’s best nurses and midwives is on, with HESTA opening nominations for the 2023 Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards.

The national awards, set to take place in Sydney in May 2023, recognise nurses, midwives, nurse educators, researchers and personal care workers who are improving health outcomes by providing outstanding care and support for Australians in need.

This year’s winners included a Victorian nurse practitioner Sue Hegarty, who has worked tirelessly to support women with ovarian cancer and their families, and First Nations NSW midwife Melanie Briggs, who developed the first Aboriginal-led maternity model of care in Australia.

Next year will mark the 17th year of the awards.

HESTA CEO Debby Blakey thanked nurses and midwives for their work and encouraged Australians to consider submitting a nomination.

“We’re so thankful for the role nurses and midwives play in keeping our communities safe and are truly honoured to help recognise these wonderful and dedicated professionals,” Ms Blakey said.

“Nurses and midwives around the country have such an incredible impact on patients’ lives. I really encourage all Australians to consider submitting a nomination for a nurse or midwife they know who has made a difference.”

Employers, colleagues, and patients have until 5 February 2023 to nominate a nursing or midwifery professional who has demonstrated leadership, innovation, and pursued excellence to deliver high-quality patient care.

Winners will share in a $30,000 prize pool, to be split equally among each category – Nurse of the Year, Midwife of the Year and Outstanding Organisation.

Finalists will be announced on 4 April 2023 and winners revealed at the awards ceremony in Sydney on 16 May 2023.

For more information or to submit a nomination, visit