Accessibility – Increase Font

Share This Story

Print This Story

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) are changing the registration renewal process this year.

Renewals will be online only, with BPay as a payment method no longer being offered.

While the changes will affect only a small cohort of nurses and midwives who renewed via hardcopy and paid via BPay, the NMBA and AHPRA recognise that the changes could be significant to some.

Therefore, the NMBA and AHPRA will be writing to nurses and midwives who renewed via hardcopy last year to let them know all renewals must now be done online.

Information will include updating your email and how to change your password.

The NMBA and AHPRA will also be available to help nurses and midwives with their renewal by offering guidance over the phone on how to complete an online renewal form and suggestions to access the most compatible software for using our website and online services.

Practitioners can contact the customer service team directly on 1300 419 495 if they’re experiencing any problems with our online form or to get with any technical issues they may have.

The NMBA and AHPRA have also removed BPay as a payment option due to it not supporting their renewal process concerning timeliness and cost-efficiency.

Nurses and midwives will need to pay their renewal fee via a credit or debit card.

Before renewal opens, nurses and midwives who paid by BPay last year will be informed that they’ll need to pay by credit or debit card.

The NMBA and AHPRA will be recommending a pre-paid debit card, available from various retail outlets for a nominal fee, for nurses and midwives who do not wish to or cannot use a credit/debit card online.

If you have any concerns contact AHPRA’s customer service team before the renewal period via a web enquiry or call the customer service team direct on 1300 419 495 in Australia and +61 3 9285 3010 outside Australia.

AHPRA will notify nurses and midwives can renew their registration. Renewal must occur by 31 May.